Our Incredible Journey of Giftedness Continues 


Just when I thought the road we are traveling along was amazing, it becomes more amazing and with deeper meaning. 

I was struggling with how Madison could meet friends that she truly identified with. And don’t get me wrong, she has amazing friends. But there seemed to be something missing and she expressed knowing that. 

So fast forward and she met a friend. A friend that had the same interest level at chess as she did. Someone who challenged her. It was utopia for her.

And then we attended a class where she met another friend. And the conversations between the three were mind blowing to her. 

And I saw her smile and her eyes light up. She talked about that outing for days. 

And at that point, I realized I needed to apply for the Davidson Young Scholars Program on her behalf. And with an amazing amount of support, I did. And she was accepted. 

By doing this, I am helping her by supporting her social and emotional needs as well as her intellectual needs. And they are needs. 

I am so grateful for all of the support we have received throughout this process.. It has been amazing and we do not go one day without praising God and the path she has been lead to take. We are extremely appreciative of the support we are receiving. She really needed it. 

Testing her was the best decision I have ever made. It not only gave me the insight on how to educate her in the best manner possible, it opened the doors she really needed. To be she is. And to be supported. And to open doors for me to support her in the best possible way. 

And all of this was made possible by the encouragement and the support of friends and a special person that understands Madison and provides the opportunity to encourage her and to go out of their way to make a huge impact in her life. 

God is good. Always. 

I will post more to come on how we have learned to choose to focus on what really benefits Madison. What she loves and how she learns best. 

Leave a Reply

