Sistine Chapel Exhibition 


We are fortunate that the Sistine Chapel Exhibition is currently in Dallas through January 8th, so we decided to visit it today. I was able to secure a Groupon so it made it a little more budget friendly.

It was a very intriguing exhibit to say the least. Each painting is a replica of the original size.

You can purchase an audio companion for  an additional $2. I definitely think it’s worth it. The audio takes about an hour and half to listen to. They do have signs that briefly describe each painting as well, but not as in depth as the audio does.
The display starts out with painting above you so there’s a lot of looking up while listening.



The signs show you where each picture is placed on the ceiling. They are all numbered, but aren’t all in order so there is some searching required to find the next one.


The paintings are amazing and this is the next best thing to seeing the originals.

I totally would have brought a Clorox wipe for the audio companion if I had known it was going to be so close to her face for hours. 🙂 But that’s me…

 

They have a video that explains everything Michelangelo had to do to paint these and it’s kind of hidden to the right, but is a must to see and preferably before viewing the paintings.


I think this exhibition was amazing and I’m glad we went. It’s not the same viewing pictures of the paintings from a book or on the computer. And the wealth of knowledge Madison gained was worth the price of the admission. It is during the Renaissance period, so there is a lack of clothing (none) on people in the majority of the paintings. I thought I had better mention that so there are no surprises. 🙂 I had to watch how I phrased that so I wouldn’t come up in searches that I didn’t want to come up in. 🙂

It is in Dallas until January 8th and it’s a gem!

One thought on “Sistine Chapel Exhibition 

  1. Pingback: December 2016 Homeschooling Update – Incredible Journey of Giftedness

Leave a Reply

