Jumping on the Khan Academy Train

So I know technology is important. I also understand from working at Sprint in the product marketing department how important it is to adapt to changing technology and that it changes extremely rapidly. That was 9 1/2 years ago and I know it’s changed immensely since then. 

As a homeschooler of a gifted child, it is hard to balance a morph of classical education, Charlotte Mason education, modern education that is aligned to standards and rapid acceleration all at the same time, let alone implementing technology. But, I’m going to find a way to do it. 

We tried computer programming through Khan Academy awhile back after Madison took a Scratch summer camp. She liked it, but I noticed the Math required was more then she knew at the time. We tabled it. 

In the meantime, I have been checking out the educator resources that are offered for free from Kodable.com to get us started. 

Then I saw an email come through from Khan Academy on Pixar in a Box and the Color Science

Madison started the Science of Color today and loved it! 

I also realized they have Computer Science too. I am going to have her continue with the Color Science and then move on to Animation. While she is working on these, I’m going to work on the educator lessons from Kodable. 

Madison already likes Algebra, but I think she’ll love seeing how it is used in animation and will be even more motivated to learn it to progress as well as Geometry.  

I know technology is something she needs to be more in touch with and so we are going to throw it into the mix, in a balanced way. She won’t be trading in her books or love for nature, but it will be a nice addition to help expand her skill set and knowledge base. 

Leave a Reply

