The Gift of Stubbornness


Madison only does what inspires her, interests her or makes her happy. If she is forced to do something she doesn’t want to do she resembles her infant picture above. 

She loved Speech and Debate last year and wanted to pursue it again this year. Last year I really had to force her to practice and it paid off when she won second place for her jr. interp speech. When she wanted to do it again this year I was hesitant because I didn’t want to have to force her to practice. I wanted to wait until she was a little older, but she promised she would practice on her own so I agreed.

Fast forward to speech writing. It took her two months of spending a lot of time every day to writing her speeches. She was dedicated and happy to do so.


But lately she has been focused on reading the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and has been fighting me tooth and nail on practicing her speeches. And it’s not like she has them down. She doesn’t have them memorized at all. 

When she fights me it isn’t just putting up a little resistance, it’s a full battle and then she doesn’t even try.

This is going to be one expensive and time consuming lesson. Which is probably why it is so hard for me to let it go. Usually I let her lead, but on this I have had a hard time. The first time I justified it as she didn’t know what it took. This time she does. I feel if I force her it not only will be the death of me emotionally with the extreame battle, but that she will never gain grit or perseverance because I will have prevented her from failing and with anextreme  cost to our relationship and my sanity. 

On the other hand, I want her to learn the value of commitment and to follow through.

So anyone who thinks have a gifted child is a walk in the park because they always have it made, needs to think again. Also anyone who thinks a parent can hothouse their gifted child needs to realize it’s basically impossible. 

I’m still on the fence as to how I am going to deal with this situation, but regardless I hope it will be a life lesson that makes a difference. 

Leave a Reply

