Homeschool Acceleration and the Gifted Child 

This summer I have been planning homeschooling for next year. It is frustrating because we can’t do all the fun learning activities and get through the curriculum. I have tried figuring out how to make it all work for weeks. And then it dawned on me. It won’t work and that’s life, but maybe I should consult Madison since it’s her life and let her choose. 

This child of mine has known what she wants from the get go. And all I’ve ever done is lay out choices and she makes them. So, it dawned on me that this time shouldn’t be any different. 

When we first started homeschooling I told her she had choices. We could go slow and she could be on grade level and play as much as she wanted to. Or, she could go as fast as she wanted to, but it would take more time out of her day. 

She chose to go fast. And she did. 

So now that I’m at a roadblock I mentioned to her that we had some choices to make for next year. She could do all the activities available to us, but she would not be as far ahead as she wanted to be if we did. Or she could choose between activities and not do them all and still stay ahead. I would lay out the activities, hours they take and the schoolwork and activities involved and she could choose what she wanted. 

Her response: I want to go to college when I am 12 or 13. I do NOT want to slow down.

I explained that as you grow older that learning becomes more involved and in-depth and so activities have to be narrowed down and that this may be her last year to be able to ‘do it all’ and that she could catch up to being ahead next year and years after that. 

Her response was no. 

Ok, so I also explained if she didn’t goof off she could save that time by focusing and getting stuff done. 

She responded by asking me what happened to her checklist? 

I had created a daily checklist for her and she stopped checking stuff off, so I quit making it for her. When I explained that to her she stated she needed the checklist. Here she is identifying how to help resolve her executive functioning issues. On her own.

I know for most of the population it is really hard to grasp the fact an 8 year old could know what she wants in life and that she could make these types of decisions regarding her life. If Madison wasn’t my child and I didn’t see it first hand I wouldn’t be able to comprehend it either. 

But she is and so I do. And I feel I am the luckiest mom in the world because she is my daughter. My ultimate goal for her is to be happy in life. Regardless of what that means. 

Leave a Reply

