Our Week of Homeschooling – The End of January

I was going to do a weekly update just to record what we are doing and as a way to look back to see what worked best and what didn’t, but it seems a little cumbersome. So I thought I’d do it by unit and hit the highlights.

Our last Moving Beyond the Page unit was a little rough. It had never occurred to me that Madison wouldn’t like the book that went with it. Well she really didn’t like it and so it was pretty hard to get through this one. It is to be expected that she won’t like every book, but it wasn’t something I had anticipated and it threw me for a loop. Fortunately, we made it through. 😉

Our unit covered the book Morning Girl and the Changing Environment. Madison had fun learning about plates and faults and tectonics. She recreated an earthquake to see what happens.

IMG_0644

As I kept my camera close to try to get pictures of Madison doing her free time activities, I realized why I haven’t taken pictures. She’s always in her PJ’s. Yes, go ahead and judge, but that’s usually how we roll until its time to go somewhere. I’ve made a concentrated effort to have her change earlier each day. Sometimes. Sometimes it is our perk of homeschooling to be comfy. I usually go with what works best for us. 🙂

Madison enjoyed drawing with chalk, playing her Thinkfun Mind Games, and building with Legos.

IMG_0645

IMG_0646

IMG_0647

One of Madison’s final projects was researching an endangered species. She already knows how to search for articles on the Internet, so I thought it would be fun to teach her how to find books at the library. She was really excited and loved it. She thought it was like a scavenger hunt. 🙂

First she looked up the call numbers on the computer. Then she went to find the two books she chose. And finally she found a table to sit down at to read and write her report.

IMG_0648

IMG_0649

IMG_0650

IMG_0651

I may be ‘Old School’, but I think it is still very important for kids to understand the Dewy Decimal System and to be able to find books at the library.

Madison continues to create wonderful pieces of art in her art class. She did a beautiful beach scene and always loves to do her art homework. This week it was of penguins.

IMG_0653

IMG_0652

Madison also started piano lessons and loves them. I hope the enjoyment of practicing and completing music theory doesn’t fade.

February is a very busy month for us full of lots of activities, classes and field trips. We are starting our new units Communities and Culture and Communities Change Over Time. We are also trying the new version of EPGY Math and Madison is very excited about it. I’ll be doing a separate post on that. I am very blessed that I have the opportunity to customize a rich and fulfilling education for Madison.

Leave a Reply

