Why is Advocating for my Gifted Child Important?

I wanted to re-share the reason I started this blog. To bring awareness that gifted children are different than just bright or smart children.

Incredible Journey of Giftedness

I remember seeing a tweet on Twitter from a gifted adult and she said, ‘I wish my parents hadn’t asked me why I couldn’t just be normal’ repeatedly as I grew up. This tweet hit home, because Madison wasn’t even 4 years old yet, and I had already said that more times than I could count. From that day forward I never said it again. I will however catch myself once and awhile asking her why she’s so frustrating, which is basically the same thing, so I need to watch that!

When most people find out their child is gifted they are so happy! Their child is smart and it is ‘cool’ to be gifted. When you look up  the definition of being gifted, here’s what you usually see:

Giftedness Defined by NSGT

That sounds cool! Yay!

But giftedness isn’t just those things. All gifted children are unique. Gifted traits…

View original post 1,083 more words

Leave a Reply

