A Whole New Outlook on Parenting a Highly Gifted Child

Parenting Madison brings a whole new definition to parenting. I am very grateful she is my child. I am envious of the outlook she has on life. If I had the insight she does or have had the trust that I have in her….

As a parent, our instinct is to protect our children. And tonight I realized that is not what my role as a parent is with Madison. It is to trust. 100%.

Riaisng a gifted asynchronist child is the most difficult thing I have ever done and most of the time it feels impossible, because it goes against everything one knows. To be able to trust a highly gifted 7 year old with the emotional capacity of a 4 year old at times is a roller coaster ride, to say the least.

But to watch her and listen to her in certain social situations, I realize that my preconceived notions are invalid. And it blows my mind.

So from learning day by day and from learning that ‘seeing is believing’ I will say, I have learned to trust my child 100%. And I am proud that I learn from her and the patience she has for me.

From this day forward I promise to never ‘purposely down’ how amazing she is or diminish her abilities and realize how lucky I am to be her mom.

Madison teaches ME every day and from this day forward I will embrace every moment without doubt. God bless her wisdom and ability to think like an adult and to be genuine while being 7 all at the same time. She does much better than I do and even though I get annoyed with her lack of maturity at times, I am envious of her maturity when it matters. God bless her.

Leave a Reply

